Uncategorized

Tower of Dawn by Sarah J Maas Review

31450852Title: Tower of Dawn
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre:Ya, Fantasy
Pages: 664
Rating :4 Stars

Synopsis

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent’s mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.

img_2298

About an hour ago I finished Tower of Dawn which is the sixth book in the Throne of Glass series. The ending had me in tears. I went into this without a ton of expectations because as I’ve said in the past I am not that fond of Chaol but this book completely changed my mind. I always knew I was going to read this book but it took me a while to get to it. Chaol really has improved from that rude human being who he once was. I loved getting more of insight into his feelings…what he went through with his breakup with Aelin , his love for Dorian

Taking place during the events of Empire of Storms, Tower of Dawn follows Chaol and Nesryn to Antica, part of the Southern Continent, where Chaol is in search of healing for his injury also they are striving for an alliance with the Khaganate that could tip the war in there favor.

The first 300 pages I found to be pretty slow because there is so many new characters and world building. But the rest the book really picked up. I only gave this book 4 stars because of the first half the the book and also because I was uninterested in Chaol up until that point.

Chaol’s healing felt a lot like Aelin’s story in Heir of Fire with how she had to really break and face everything she was before she could rebuild herself and move forward with a purpose. Chaol had to go through the same story arc, his body and soul needed to heal together. He goes through so much in this book and has really grown as a person.

YERENE! She first appeared in the Assins Blade ( which I have still have yet to read) .Her sassy-ness and she takes no bull shit towards Chaol. She is resentful to have to heal Chaol because of her hatred for the old King and Ardalan. There relationship grows and I love them together. I liked the fact that she didn’t do things for him and made him do things for himself. Sarah is so good at writing badass female character’s.

Nesryn. I found her story sort of dragged, until the end of the story. I feel like we still don’t really know to much about her. That she is sort of a filler character. I liked her story with the Prince and the ruk’s.

If you were thinking about skipping this book , I suggest you don’t as there is a lot of important information you need to go into the next book. It was supposed to be a novella but it is not its a the sixth book to the series. So much happens in this book that I cant talk about because of spoilers but I do recommend you do pick this up.

SARAH J MAAS IS LIFE! This series is just EVERYTHING to me. I really missed not having Aelin and Dorian around and cannot wait for the next installment even though it will be the last. I’m not ready for what is to come, but I am ready for everyone to be reunited.


Instagram:_stephgillespie_
Twitter:SteffieReads
Goodreads: Stephanie Gillespie

4 thoughts on “Tower of Dawn by Sarah J Maas Review

Leave a comment