Poem -Anxiety-

For World Poetry day I decided to share a poem I have been working on for the last couple of days with you. I have been nervous about sharing it because I’ve been out of practice with writing and scared that it wasn’t very good. Also my poetry is personal so it feels as if I’m sharing a piece of myself with you all. I posted a picture on Instagram and I have gotten some support from people, which is incredible, thank you !

 

It whispers in my ear,
I shouldn’t listen to it
Telling me
all the things
that could go wrong
I struggle to breathe
As hands
wrap around my lungs
People just look
Judging me
I can’t fight off
this monster
they don’t see
nobody does
my heart throbs
my muscles contracting
mychest burning
the monster
tightening it’s grip
I feel sick
Its too hot
I wish I could tell
But when asked how I am
I smile
and say
Im fine

-Anxiety — Stephanie Gillespie

 

Please leave me feedback and let me know what you think ! 🙂

 

Instagram: _stephgillespie_
Twitter: SteffieReads
Goodreads: Stephanie Gillespie

5 thoughts on “Poem -Anxiety-

  1. gpavants says:

    Hi BBB,

    I feel your anxiety. I mean, you captured those cold grasping fingers to the point.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Gary On Tue, Mar 21, 2017 at 6:52 PM between folded pages wrote:

    > betweenfoldedpages posted: “For World Poetry day I decided to share a poem > I have been working on for the last couple of days with you. I have been > nervous about sharing it because I’ve been out of practice with writing and > scared that it wasn’t very good. Also my poetry is personal” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

