July Reading Wrap up

Oh My God ! I can’t believe July is already over. Were past the half way mark through the year. This month was a great reading month for me. My son went to cam for a week,so I got a few book’s finished in that time.Hope I can read this many in August, I’m going back to college in September for the first time in 6 years πŸ™‚

295691571.Zenith By Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings,Β Book Review Here

125538

2.Welcome to Camp Nightmare by R.L. Stine
Listened to this on audio book with my son. The story is pretty great. It’s a typical scary camp story. I remember I owned this one as a kid, but couldn’t remember how it ended. Of course, there’s a insane twist ending. I just love these books. I gave this 3.5 stars.

24718697

3.Goosebumps: Haunted Mask II: Β by R.L. Stine
This was one of my favorite goosebumps growing up. Listened to this on audio book with Noah too. Also gave this a 3.5 Stars.

22859559

4.The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste,Β Book Review Here

NRcover

5.November Rain by Shannon A. Thompson,Β Book Review Here

28965353

6.November Snow by Shannon A. Thompson
First of all a huge thanks to the author for providing me with the copy of the book. November Snow takes off from where the first part – November Rain – has ended. T he second book has a lot more action, twists and turns making it an amazing finale. My heart broke in the end but I loved every minute of this book. I warn you, you will need an abundance of tissues at your disposal. I strongly recommend this book to anyone. I gave this 5 Stars.

11264999

7.A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin,Β Full Review Here

6068551

8.Shiver By Maggie Steifvater
So as a big fan of Stiefvater’s ‘Raven Cycle’ series, I was really expecting to love this book,I liked it, but it wasn’t amazing. I am just so torn on rating this book. Maggie Steifvater’s writing is so vivid and poetic. It’s why I love her writing style.I really liked the werewolf concept in this book. Werewolves are no supernatural creatures with inhuman strength; they are simply normal wolves. Similar to a sort of illness that comes with the lowering of temperatures and being unable to remember your human life. I also have to mention the romance. It was a little too insta-love for me. I gave this a 3.5 Stars.

19547848

9.The Uninvited by Cat Winters

Haunting, beautiful.. I could go on;-) This was my first Cat Winters book but it wont be my last. While the romance is a major factor in the story, it also touches on the more serious aspects of the time. The racism, the hatred, the narrow-mindedness, the deaths and the rise of jazz. I absolutely loved this book. Major plot twist, I thought I had guessed at it but I was only partly right and the rest of it blew me away.

10893214

10.The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand
The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is Claire Legrand’s debut novel. I LOVED IT! Ohmygod! so much creepy, I love it! All you Coraline fans out there, I found the next level. And has a protagonist with OCD and anxiety who manages to use her OCD as a tool to help fight evil compulsion spells. The art in this book., its beautiful. All the little designs, the bugs on the pages the illustrations fit the story perfectly.

18187531

11. Horimiya Vol 4 by HERO
This couple is killing me with cuteness overdose!!My heart is totally melting, Izumi is really sweet.It’s getting better and better. Hori dad is hilarious, this manga makes me smile and giggle the whole way through I just love it so much. Hurry up and release volume 5 already πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “July Reading Wrap up

  1. madbooklove says:

    School starts back up for me towards the end of August as well, though I’ve only had two months break. But I took a 4 year break after my kiddos were born, so I feel for you! What are you studying?

    I read the Shiver trilogy before Raven Kings. Loved the Shiver series and fell in love with Stiefvater through those books, but I agree that Raven Kings is better.

    And I hope to start the third book in GOT before the end of the year. Do you watch the show at all?

    Like

    • betweenfoldedpages says:

      I’m going to be taking personal support worker,I’ve done the job for years but I want a Hospital job and need the course for that. I love GOT show πŸ™‚ Iv’e watched it all , I hope to read the second book before the end of the year πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. theopenbooknook says:

    I’m so excited to be able to go back and re-read some books from when I was a kid once my daughter is old enough. I definitely loved some Goosebumps and want to revisit some of those!

    Good luck heading back to school! How exciting!

    Like

  3. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I love Goosebumps! I need to re buy the set soon, I’m bummed we donated all of mine when I was little the original covers are the best πŸ™‚ I’m starting A Song of Ice and Fire this month, I just watched the TV series so hopefully I enjoy the books just as much πŸ™‚

    Great wrap up and good luck with going back to school!

    Like

Leave a Reply

